Journaling · Stories

Table Talk

So on Saturday, my aunt and uncle came over. My uncle had to finish up something in the bathroom, and then he and my aunt just wanted to sit and visit for a while. So we ended up sitting at the dining room table. And by we, I mean me, my mom, my aunt, and my uncle. (My dad was taking a nap in the living room.)

So anyway, it was just simple talk first. We were catching up because it was the first time that I’d really gotten to see them. 

Then my uncle started asking questions about how my dad was doing. And after my mom answered, he encouraged my mom to pursue getting a second opinion about my dad’s cancer. 

I found out that my dad’s current doctor still hasn’t told my parents any type of a prognosis for my dad’s cancer. He was supposed to get a PET scan to check on the cancer today or tomorrow, but the oncologist decided to push it back a whole month. Why? We have no idea. 

My parents are both really frustrated, and they just want answers. And I do too. And after hearing what my uncle had to say, so does the rest of the family. Everyone is ready to know what is actually wrong–how bad it is and everything. 

My uncle also recommended that once we do finally hear what’s going on, we as a family unit–my parents, my sister, and myself–sit down and have some real talk about our next steps. So whether that’s going to continue with chemo treatments, or stopping them, we need to talk about the options. 

I’m really looking forward to our future Table Talks. 

Leave a Reply

