Journaling

Dear Dad–I GOT A PUPPY!

I haven’t actually written you in a long time.
I’ve had a hard time just slowing down and writing lately.
I’ve also just been so stuck emotionally.
But it’s such a struggle.

Jon and I are walking in this season together.
It’s such a gift to have my husband supporting me and helping me through this.
As hard as it’s been, I’m so thankful that we’re doing this together.

Jon surprised me a couple weeks ago with a puppy.
My dream puppy to be exact.
He got me a purebred Great Pyrenees.
OMG.

It still feels like a dream.
I can’t believe that Jon worked so hard to surprise me like this.
It’s so sweet.
And I’m so thankful.

In the hard season we’ve been in, a puppy has been such a beautiful thing.
He’s been such a bundle of joy.
And I’m so excited to watch Gunner grow up in to the sweet dog he’s going to be.

We got him almost two months ago.
He’s 15 weeks old. And right now I’m guessing he’s about 32 pounds.
Maybe more by now.
But he’s super sweet.
He’s doing such a great job in training.
And we’re considering the possibility of training him to be a therapy dog.
I’ve always thought that it would be really great to train a dog to be a therapy dog to go visit people in the hospital, or let kids read to him in a library.
So, we’re just going to keep seeing how Gunner does as he grows.

Gunner really loves Jon.
Gunner follows Jon around.
It’s so sweet.
He loves to play with Jon.

unnamed

He’s teething a lot…
he’s biting everything and everyone.
But we’re teaching him that it’s not what he’s supposed to do.

Gunner brings a lot of joy.
He’s teaching us about loving life, even in the harder seasons.
And I’m so thankful for him.

 

Love you, Dad.
I’ve been missing you a lot lately.

Leave a Reply

